New Procharger Instal

Old 09-28-2010, 10:35 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Procharger Instal

Hey guys its my first time posting here and I have some questions. A little about me first, I am a drag racer by heart and have a low 9 second N/A 03 cobra with a sb stroker that I do all my own engine work on. I use my 2001 F-150 super crew 4x4 to tow the car to the track. I just finished adding a complete pro charger kit to the truck to help with the towing duties and can't say I am completely satisfide with it is at this point (nothing wrong with procharger and I not bashing them becasue I might have someting off). The truck is bone stock, I mean bone stock but in good mechanical condition. I used my Fast duel wideband from the race car to set the fuel pressure on the FMU and it only needed 1/4 turn from factory to have an AF of 12.6 at max boost. There is no detination or breaking up at all, turn the FMU out 1/2 turn like the manual says and the truck is a dog. Leave it all the way in where it comes from the factory and it detinates at high boost and RPM. I am running only 93 octane gas from BP.

The problem I have is this (and this might be the way a super charger is, I have not idea since its my first venture with one) from a dead stop when you floor it the truck accelerates like it did when it was stock (it wont even spin the tires in 2wd) until the RPMs come up over 2500-3000 and then is starts to build boost around 15-20 mph. After it builds boost it deffinately has way more power then before and will put down some decent 20 to 75 mph times in a short distance but there seems to be nothing on the low end where I will do most of my towing and driving. It makes 9 psi at full throttle after it builds up and will make around 4-5 psi all day long at part throttle but nothing right off the bat if you floor it or 1/4 throttle? There doesn't seem to be much tuneability to this kit other then the FMU or am I missing something here also?